Trio Of Veteran ILA Leaders To Be Honored At 2018 ILA Civil Rights Dinner This Saturday in Savannah, Georgia



NORTH BERGEN, NJ – (October 23, 2018) Three ILA Leaders from the Ports of Savannah, Georgia; Charleston, South Carolina and Houston, Texas will be honored this Saturday, October 27, 2018 at the Sixth Annual International Longshoremen’s Association Civil, Human and Women’s Rights Committee Awards Dinner to be held at the Savannah Marriott Riverfront Hotel in Savannah, Georgia.

Willie J. Seymore, Executive Vice President of the South Atlantic and Gulf Coast District and an International Vice President representing the Port of Savannah, will receive the Martin Luther King, Jr. Award. Yvette Flowers from the Port of Charleston, South Carolina will receive the Women’s Rights Award and Andrew Lee Laws from the Port of Houston is slated to receive the Labor Leader Award. Sister Flowers is currently serving her fourth term as Financial Secretary-Treasurer of Local 1422, ILA in the Port of Charleston. Brother Laws, a veteran of more than 70 years with the ILA, is a District Representative with the South Atlantic and Gulf Coast District.

A fourth award, The Humanitarian Award, will be given to Griff Lynch, Chief Operating Officer/Incoming Executive Director of the Georgia Ports Authority.

Harold J. Daggett, International President, International Longshoremen’s Association, AFL-CIO and the recipient of the first ILA Civil Rights Award six years ago in Hampton Roads, Virginia; will deliver the keynote address at Saturday’s Civil Rights Dinner.

Gerald Owens, chair of the ILA Civil Rights Committee, reports that the 2018 Civil Rights Dinner in Savannah promises to be an outstanding success and a tribute to this important and progressive committee. The ILA’s Civil Rights Committee memorializes the names of Alexander Talmadge and Edward L. Brown, Sr., two former ILA officers and Civil Rights champions. Edward L. Brown, Sr., an ILA leader from the Port of Hampton Roads, chaired the original ILA Civil Rights Committee when it was formed in 1991 and named for Alexander Talmadge, who hailed from the Port of Philadelphia.

In addition to ILA President Daggett, Stephen Knott, ILA Secretary-Treasurer; Dennis A. Daggett, ILA Executive Vice President; Alan Robb, President, South Atlantic and Gulf Coast District and Michael Vigneron, President Atlantic Coast District will offer remarks at the Civil Rights Dinner.

Savannah Mayor Eddie DeLoach will be introduced at the ILA Civil Rights Dinner by Willie Seymore and bring greetings from the host city.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.