The 2018 J. H. “Buddy” Raspberry Scholarship Reception & Awards Luncheon


The 2018 J. H. “Buddy” Raspberry Scholarship Reception & Awards Luncheon was held at the Marriott Marquis in Houston, Texas on Saturday, June 16. This was the 9th year of the event in which a total of $87,000 in academic and vocational scholarship funds was awarded to 24 recipients.

The Raspberry Scholarship was started in honor of the late J.H. Raspberry who served as President of the South Atlantic & Gulf Coast District (SAGCD) in 1978. In addition to the J.H. Raspberry Scholarships, the Captain John T. Scardasis Memorial Scholarship is also awarded to one student entering a maritime academy or field of study. This year, the Raspberry Scholarship Fund also awarded the Christion Fitzgerald Memorial Scholarship courtesy of APS Stevedoring. Christion was a young man who tragically lost his life in an on the job accident in 2017. Christion carries on his spirit of helping others through the scholarship awarded in his honor.

The 2018 J. H. “Buddy” Raspberry Scholarship winners are as follows:

Ajay Chaney (Captain John T. Scardasis Memorial Scholarship Winner), Alyssa Lopez, Anne Hobdy, Cali Green, Caroline Mims, Chad Johnson, Cody Keller, Eliud Ramirez, Emaley Jackson, Genesis Osamor, Isabella Martingano (Christion Fitzgerald Memorial Scholarship Winner), Jordyn Groover, Kayla Izaguirre, Lauren Mims, Leonardo Ramirez, Madison Segovia, Mary Jackson, Natalie Dye, Nolan Cox, Rebecca Shaffer, Ryan Arthur, Savanna Chatman, Spencer Russo,and Steban Soto

Congratulations to our scholars and their families.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.